Costume: Magenta

HAPPPPPY WEEK OF HALLOWEEN EVERYONE!

I’m super excited for this week, because we’re going to do Halloween costumes!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Can you figure out who I am?

It’s a movie about a Sweet Transvestite…. a cult classic….. you know, the Rocky Horror Picture Show.

So each year, the University of Tennessee (just like many other places around the world), hold auditions for a shadow cast to act in front of the Rocky Horror Picture Show.  On the night of the show, people come and participate with call backs to the cast/movie, there are virgin games (for people who have never seen the movie live), dance, and have a grand time. I was fortunate enough to be cast as Magenta for the second year in a row. I love Magenta: her character, her costumes, and her makeup.

We performed The Rocky Horror Picture Show on Saturday night at midnight. So many people came. It was awesome.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

The costume is simple.

Outfit:

Black dress, Forever21

Apron, literally a curtain from my mom’s house

Garter belt, lingerie store

Thigh highs, lingerie store

Boots, Doc Martens

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The makeup is a little bit harder to accomplish, but I will list the products I used. (I can also do a vlog if needed)

Products:

Primer, 001- Rimmel London- I always use primer because it not only smoothes your skin, but it keeps your skin from breaking out as well from the makeup

Foundation, FIT  110- Maybelline NY- Magenta is super duper white. I am not, so I went and bought the whitest foundation that I could find. The only caveat: BLEND.

 Base eyeshadow, Cream shadow 890- L’Oreal Paris- This goes on the main part of your eyelid. Make sure you create a definite shape and then fill in. I used a cream shadow because it stays much better than a regular one.

Top eyeshadow, white glitter- Hot Topic- Magenta has three very prominent colors on her eyes. It helps give your eyes a better definition.

Eyeshadow around the sides, light pink- The pink I used was very old and it did not have the name on it… But she just wears this around the sides of her eyes.

Top eyeliner, cream (Blackest Black)- Maybelline NY- Same goes with cream eyeliner. It stays so much better and is easy to draw with.

Bottom eyeliner, Colorstay black- Revlon- Magenta has dark eyes, so this eyeliner lines very well around the lash line.

Eyelashes, fake- Sonia Kashuk (Target)- She also has very defined lashes, so these help. Plus, fake eyelashes are super fun and I love them.

Mascara, Falsies black- Maybelline NY– The mascara separates her bottom lashes for a more defined look.

Lipstain, Just Bitten- Revlon- For the sole fact that it makes the lipstick last longer.

Lipstick, Wine with Everything 520, Revlon- She has very dark cherry like lips. This is the perfect color.

and last but not least….

Translucent powder, Photo Ready 001, Revlon- This just blends everything. Then, if I am going on stage, I spray hairspray on my face to make everything stick (no pun intended) into place. It sounds weird, I know, but I did it in high school on stage and it worked for long or sweaty nights/performances.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Then I just teased the crap out of my hair, put some red in it, and did the Time Warp again.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Con affetto xoxo,

Rebecca

Leave a comment