“Risky Business”

DSCN2352

It’s that time of year again: Halloween.

Over my years of experience Halloween, 19 to be exact, I’ve never really been the biggest fan. Yes, I love candy. Yes, I love getting scared. But I’ve never been the biggest fan of dressing up because it’s always such a hassle. From getting the right piece of clothing to getting a wig to making sure your false lashes won’t fall off halfway through the evening. These are all problems I ran into when dressing up as Hannah Montana a few years back. (Yes, I was Hannah Montana one year.)

This year, instead of trying to get the perfect costume, I decided to opt for something simple, yet fun that I could re-create with things already in my home.

If you’ve seen Risky Business, you know the most famous scene in the film is when Tom Cruise’s character Joel Goodsen is doing the underpants dance. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out the video below:

This scene resonated with me so many years after first seeing it, and I decided to take inspiration from Joel and dress up like him, with a few changes that made me more comfortable with the whole dressing up part of Halloween.

First, I grabbed a huge shirt from my dad’s closet. I tried to pick a neutral color, as he didn’t have the exact or a similar one Tom was wearing in the movie. Then, I also grabbed some classic white sports socks. Then, some wayfarers. I also put on tights, a tank top underneath, and voila! I am Risky Business.

I hope this helps any Halloween losers like me! If anything, it’s an easy, last-minute costume idea that’s fun and cute. Plus, you’ll get props for making a movie reference in your costume.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

xoxo,

Melodi

DSCN2364

DSCN2365

DSCN2353 DSCN2355

From top to toe: Sunglasses: The Gap, Shirt: Borrowed from Dad, Tank Top: Forever 21, Tights: Silk, Socks: Hanes.

DSCN2360 DSCN2361

DSCN2363

Leave a comment